Miss you; Ministry

A 2014 Post

Dear you,

I miss you. I miss your jokes that I tell to others but few seem to understand and appreciate the way I do. I like you. I like your selflessness and your boldness. I love you. I love the way you are. No one can replace you yet.

I’m waiting for that someone.

Maybe that someone is Jesus, if there’s no one.

Dear Father,

Thank you for the amazing time of sharing and fellowship I’ve had with a few people. Maybe I’ve been doing it, but this season of my life seems to be an encounter with You I’ve never had. Maybe, I’ve been growing. My ideas about ministry and what it means to serve has been constantly renewing. Thank You God for being with me and for using me.

On 6 March, I completed my report about H. God, I’m putting the past behind me and I’m forgiving H. I believe Your justice will come and I know You’re constantly working around me. Help me to pray even for H.

On 10, 12 and 14 March, I started having tuition with KH. I’m glad he likes me and I can connect with him. I remember how tough the first lesson was. Maybe he was testing the waters. We spent 1h on 4 Math questions, but I helped him learn fractions (his weakest topic) with Lego. After the second lesson, I realised his attention span was really short and he would start talking about irrelevant things from his imagination (if I did not know how to stop him). For the third lesson, I figured he needed some incentives to keep him focused and motivated, so I bought counters and prizes (erasers and stickers). For every task completion (no matter how small, e.g. reading a question), he earns a counter. For every 5-9 counters earned per lesson, he gets to choose a sticker. If he earns 10 counters, he gets to choose an eraser. I was glad he loved the prizes (that meant the motivational factors were in place). Thank You God.

Also on 14 March, I had dinner with WT. She attended the secondary small group the Saturday before, and I was meaning to invite her for YA. I’m glad she enjoyed! I’ll be having dinner with her tomorrow before YA and after tuition. Father, please lead and guide us. As a host in Your house, I got to know her better through dinner. She likes Milk Tea from ShareTea. She has completed her ITE education, and is waiting to enter Biomedical Engineering in TP. Her sister is working at NP’s Morphosis while Dad’s overseas. She’s renting a flat and staying together with her mum, YW and Mum as well. I hope we can have deeper sharing tomorrow!

17-18 March was SL Camp at SLPS. I enjoyed working together with the teachers, student facilitators and student leaders. I felt the school really treasured teamwork over victory. When it was time to decide the top three groups out of eight, the teacher facilitators (including myself) were asked to rate our group’s performance based on the level of unity (if there were conflicts) and teamwork (if they could work well with one another even if the student facilitators were absent). Those that were rated 8/10 and above took the top three places. The point system, such as 300 for completion of task, 200 for good effort, 100 for mediocre effort, 50 for cheer, etc., was merely used to motivate the students throughout the camp. The teacher facilitators were also asked to commend any pupil we identified with outstanding qualities. I’m heartened by the values the school emphasise on, such as teamwork (looking out for others) and being a role-model for others to follow (one with outstanding qualities). Thank You God.

17 March was tuition after camp. KH’s grandma started connecting with me by asking me if I was a Buddhist too, but I replied saying that my grandma is, while I’m not. Father, I pray that I can reach out to this family by Your grace, strength, love and wisdom.

On 18 March, I met up with A after camp. I got to know her a little better. She’s doing poorly for subjects like Maths and Chemistry, but goes for tuition to improve. She is also serving in Church worship on a monthly basis because she has to study for the upcoming As. She has been learning music since young, took up double bass in primary school and was in Choir in secondary school, so that explains her musical inclination in the instruments and in vocal. We also discussed about our expectations and challenges faced during worship. She mentioned seeing the congregation singing loudly, while I mentioned seeing the presence of God touch the hearts of the congregation as desirable worship. A challenge she feels we could overcome is adjusting to the right feel, while for me, it’s being able to harmonise and synchronise the singing of both partners. Simply put, it’s working as a team. We have decided on the songs since then. Father, I pray that our worship will be unto You an offering that is altogether lovely and pleasing to You. Help us with the techniques, enable us to enjoy worship and anoint us to draw men into Your love and Your presence, Lord. Amen!

On 20 March, I met up with C & JX for lunch, just before C’s tuition. She shared three secrets with us (those were reasons her phone was confiscated). God, I do not have any solution to her problems. I want to help her but I know only You can, perhaps through JX, perhaps through me, perhaps through many circumstances and people. I hope God, that You speak to C through Your word and through prayer, God. Hear her silent cries for love, attention and purpose. Fill that heart-shaped vacuum only You can. Let Your word be a lamp unto her feet and light unto her path. In the stillness of the night and of her heart, speak. Word of God speak, would You pour down like rain, washing her eyes to see, Your majesty; To be still and know that You’re in this place, please let her stay and rest in Your holiness. Word of God, speak. I hope You help C’s mum too. You know she loves C very much but is at wit’s end. Give her wisdom, teach her the way she should go, for to You she lifts up her soul.

Leave a comment